mercoledì 29 aprile 2020

Van Morrison - 1995-12-17 - Dublin, Ireland (FM/FLAC)

(FM Broadcast FLAC) 

From Dublin Up To Sandy Row
(bootleg CD) A Numbered Limited Edition
Live at the Point Depot Dublin Ireland, December 17th, 1995 - 
An absolutely superb recording. Quality: A++

Tonight Only (TO 99/011-012;
re-released as TO 02/25-26)
(Released June 1999;
re-released circa September 2002)

Disc One:
01 - Ain't That Loving You Baby? (3:37)
02 - No Religion (4:41)
03 - Days Like This (3:03)
04 - Raincheck (4:56)
05 - That's Life (4:27)
06 - Wonderful Remark (4:10)
07 - Saint Dominic's Preview (5:41)
08 - Listen To The Lion (5:05)
09 - Slim Slow Slider (5:15)
10 - Vanlose Stairway, TransEuro Train (4:11)
11 - Irish Heartbeat (4:06)
12 - Ballerina (6:52)

Total time: (56:04)

Disc Two:
01 - Tupelo Honey, Why Must I Always Explain? (7:24)
02 - Moondance (7:04)
03 - Whenever God Shines His Light (3:34)
04 - In The Garden / You Send Me (7:03)
05 - Star Of The County Down (2:33)
06 - Satisfied (6:08)
07 - Melancholia (3:59)
08 - I'm Not Feeling It Anymore (7:03)
09 - Madame George (5:51)
10 - Brown Eyed Girl (3:29)
11 - Have I Told You Lately (6:05)

Total time: (60:13)

"The quality is reported to be absolutely stunning - better than some of Van's commercial live records. It's a limited edition set - copies appear to be individually numbered - limited run of 250. It has a total running time of just under two hours. Sound really is sensational. The package is described as 'classy'."

Review by Niall Connors:

"Given that the 17.Dec.95 show from The Point Depot in dear, dirty Dublin was captured four years back on The Night Was Full Of Space boot, it was noteworthy how much "press" the soon-to-be-circulated From Dublin Up To Sandy Row received in the Van-List circles."

"Well, the hype was worth it. While the sound on NWFOS is solid, the sound on FDUTSR is flawless; in my opinion, it is better than on the live commercial release, A Night In San Francisco."

"This is the third Van show of which I am aware that the Tonight Only label has released, and they seem to know they had something special here. A couple of blurbs from the very sharp artwork: "Tonight Only is proud to present the definitive recording of one of the definitive Van Morrison concerts of the 1990's . . . .The pristine recording you hold in your hands is released with a very limited pressing of just 250 copies, each one numbered to enhance its value as a rare record of a spectacular concert at Dublin's Point Depot."

"The setlist speaks for itself, and Van's performance is simply "on"; even "Moondance" works! But the value of this recording is the sound, which has a richness and complexity, as well as subtlety, that TNWFOS lacks. Guy Barker's sax solo on "That's Life" absolutely shimmers, and one can literally feel Alec Dankworth's fingers on the up-right bass during "Why Must I Always Explain."

"I have no affiliation with Tonight Only, so I can say without influence that this is a classic boot." Part of the unofficial website

Nessun commento:

Posta un commento