domenica 28 febbraio 2021

The Who - 1979-05-17 - Paris, FR (FM/FLAC)

(FM Broadcast FLAC)

FM>Unknown Gen Cassette>Soundblaster X-Fi Soundcard>Cubase SX 2.0 (full audio restoration)>WAV>FLAC

Disc One:
01 Substitute
02 Can't Explain
03 Baba O'Riley
04 The Punk And The Godfather
05 Boris The Spider
06 Sister Disco
07 Behind Blue Eyes
08 Music Must Change
09 Bargain
10 Pinball Wizard
11 See Me Feel Me
12 Long Live Rock
13 Dreaming From The Waist

Disc Two:
01 Who Are You
02 My Generation
03 Join Together
04 My Generation Blues
05 Magic Bus (cut)
06 Guitar Piano Jam
07 Won't Get Fooled Again
08 Young Man Blues
09 Summertime Blues
10 The Real Me

The French radio station clearly took their soundboard feed from Bobby Pridden's on-stage desk because you can hear the metronome that is sent to Kenney Jones' headphones during 'Baba O'Riley' and 'Won't Get Fooled Again' (it sounds like a cowbell, and it is very prominent in the mix).

The radio station's engineers had the mix very poorly balanced for the opening track, improved it greatly by the end of the second track, and had it very nice from track three onward (although from mid-way in the show the bass guitar becomes a little quiet and Kenney's kick drum dominates the bottom end).

A French DJ speaks between songs, which i suppose gives the show a broadcast-ambience that is cool in its own way; particularly when he introduces "Oo-Ahhrh-Yu".

The performance of "Who Are You" is, incidentally, the most catastrophic shambles; each member of the group commits a howler at one point or another, and Roger forgets the words of the opening lines just for good measure. Like many performances from this period: the worst is fascinating, the best is actually incredible.

The restoration of this FM recording has been extensive and involved, producing a highly three-dimensional dynamic sound from a source that has never circulated in great quality. People that have this show already will, i've no doubt, consider this an upgrade.

2 commenti: