domenica 16 febbraio 2020

Paul McCartney - 1990-07-04 - Washington, WA (SBD/FLAC)

(Soundboard FLAC)

SHOW DATE: 07/04/90
SET(S): 29 (out of 35) songs


SBD > D > D > SSSB; thanks to Mike B. for seeding this show; BAND MEMBERS: Linda McCartney, Paul McCartney, Hamish Stuart, Robbie McIntosh, Paul Wickens, Chris Whitten; MISSING: opening songs "Figure Of Eight", "Jet", "Got To Get You Into My Life"'; MISSING: mid-show "Lennon Tribute" (Strawberry Fields / Help! / Give Peace A Chance); any/all editing, fades, NR, hiss elimination, phase shifting, time smear correction, digital jitter elimination, EQ, and quantization noise elimination (when down-converting audio for CD-R mastering), were all performed using 24-bit / 96 kHz digital realm processing at Serafin Station Studio B using the "code name Harpoon" editing software (Beta V0.962.88 Build 125)

Disc 1
01 (You Say It's Your) Birthday (03:48)
02 Band On The Run (05:43)
03 We Got Married -> (06:50)
04 -> Let 'Em In (06:18)
05 The Long And Winding Road (05:20)
06 The Fool On The Hill (04:44)
07 Sgt. Pepper's Lonely Hearts Club Band (Opening) -> (02:32)
08 -> Sgt. Pepper's Lonely Hearts Club Band (Reprise) (04:16)
09 Good Day Sunshine (03:14)
10 Can't Buy Me Love (02:59)
11 Put It There (03:00)
12 The Things We Said Today -> (05:02)
13 -> Eleanor Rigby (02:46)
14 This One (04:51)
15 My Brave Face (03:19)
16 Back In The U.S.S.R. (03:39)

Total time: 1:08:28

Disc 2
01 When I Saw Her Standing There (05:12)
02 Coming Up (06:18)
03 "Friends Of The Earth" Rap (01:03)
04 Let It Be (04:55)
05 Live & Let Die (04:38)
06 "Up On The Stage" (Vaudeville song) (00:35)
07 Hey Jude (08:44)
08 Yesterday (02:42)
09 Happy Birthday -> (00:35)
10 -> Get Back (04:25)
11 Golden Slumbers -> (01:42)
12 -> Carry That Weight -> (04:43)
13 -> The End (02:00)

Total time: 47:36

Unfortunately, a few songs are missing (but isn't 29 songs enough for a show????). The 3 opening songs (Figure Of Eight, Got To Get You Into My Life, and Rough Ride) were not on the master. Paul's "Lennon Tribute" (Strawberry Fields / Help! / Give Peace a Chance) are also missing (known as "The Medley" on most set lists). The odd thing is, though, when listening to the master, I hear NO break anywhere where those 3 songs should have been! They show up on the unofficial set lists as being between "Let It Be" and "Live And Let Die". I've listened to the master I don't know how many times, and there is no change in the applause, an edit I can visually see/hear, nothing! So, I wonder if they WERE played or not. 2 sites show The Medley as NOT played this date. I can only wonder.

This is a excellent show, with lots of energy from Paul, who's constantly whooping it up between songs. He's in great voice, and his bass playing, although a little "down" in the mix, is still a good thing to listen to! The mix was done wonderfully, and there were only a couple of "glitches" in the effects for a few brief seconds on a couple of songs (such as too much reverb when the "quick" part of Live And Let Die happens. Oh well, engineers are only human, too! Otherwise, the mix is damn near perfect, nice channel separation where it needs to me, and none of the background vocals are too loud/soft... just right.

The selection of songs range from the early 60's Beatles to his most recent album of the time (Flowers In The Dirt), and the arrangements are excellent. Some sampling from the original Beatles' recordings were used, such as the jet aircraft taking off in Back In The USSR to the cello parts in Eleanor Rigby.

He's surrounded by some top notch musicians on guitars and vocals. Linda's voice is not in the mix much, but her then honed skills on the keyboards made up for it. The guitarists effects ranged from some very natural sounding acoustical guitars to the wonderful distortion/feedback/sustain segue between Things We Said Today and Eleanor Rigby (was right on the money!).

Nessun commento:

Posta un commento