giovedì 29 agosto 2019

Traffic - Low Spark of High Heeled Boys Sessions (STU/FLAC)

Traffic - Low Spark of High Heeled Boys Sessions
(Studio FLAC)

Low Spark of High Heeled Boys Sessions-Liberated Boot 
Olympic Studios 
London, UK 

Liberated Boot "Low Spark of High Heeled Boys Sessions" purchased several years ago> EAC disc extraction> TLH Wav to flac formatting> TLH torrent creation

Steve Winwood-vox, keys, guitar 
Jim Capaldi-vox, percussion 
Chris Wood-reeds, flute 
Rick Grech-bass 
Jim Gordon-drums 

01 - Low Spark of High Heeled Boys 
02 - Rock and Roll Stew 
03 - Rainmaker 
04 - Rock and Roll Stew (UK 45 version officially released - not included) 
05 - Light Up or Leave Me Alone 
06 - Jam 1 
07 - Jam 2 with horns 
08 - Jam 3 with horns 
09 - It's So Hard 1 (Capaldi and Gordon) 
10 - It's So Hard 2 
11 - Easter Weekend 1 (Capaldi) 
12 - Easter Weekend 2

"Traffic: The Low Spark of High Heeled Boys Sessions: 1971 
OMS Reel Recordings, Mexico. This is billed as out takes from the Low Spark studio sessions, thought it seems to have other stuff as well. The sound quality is excellent except for the alternate mix "Rock & Roll Stew" extended version which is curiously distorted. 12 tracks pretty much suitable for die hard fans only: 

1) Low Spark of High Heeled Boys, alternate take 2/9/71. Not really that different from the real version except that Chris Wood's electric sax is replaced by lethargic noodling. 
2) "Rock & Roll Stew" alternate take, 5/19/71. Same words & progression as the actual take but the feel of the song is completely different. Almost a different song entirely. Interesting to see how the song evolved over 3 months time. 
3) "Rainmaker" Different take 5/19/71. Pretty much what it says. 
4) "Rock & Roll Stew" different mix 8/25/71. This is (I guess) the full version from the English 45. As mentioned above, it is somewhat distorted (overmodulated) though certainly listenable. The instrumental ending not included on the album version is not particularly memorable. If this is indeed the extended 45 version, you haven't missed much. 
5) "Light Up or Leave me Alone" different take 8/25/71. Mostly, the difference is Capaldi vocalizing a bit during the instrumental sections. 
6) Jam #1, take 2. Personnel not really listed but it sounds like Winwood, Gordon & Grech sounding sorta like Blind Faith. Interesting take but just a jammy thing. 
7 & 8) Jam #2 & 3 w/Muscle Shoals Horns. Not sure who's playing what beyond the obvious. The rhythm section certainly seems to be the Alabamy boys and I'd bet on Winwood on guitar and maybe organ. Shoot Out meets a horn section. 
9 & 10) "It's So Hard" Capaldi & Gordon. Capaldi & (Gordon) playing acoustic guitar, fleshing out the song. For die hard fans only. 
11 & 12) "Easter Weekend" Same as above."

Nessun commento:

Posta un commento