domenica 8 luglio 2018

U2 - 1981-05-11 - Denver, CO (FM/FLAC)

(FM broadcast FLAC)

Rainbow Music Hall
Denver, CO 
May 11, 1981

Source I: KAZY-FM broadcast > Cassette tape > CDR > WAV > FLAC 8
Source II: Master reel (Pre-FM SBD) > DAT > CDr > EAC > CDWave > FLAC

00. The Ocean*
01. 11 O'clock Tick Tock
02. I Will Follow
03. I Fall Down
04. An Cat Dubh > Into The Heart
05. Touch
06. Another Time, Another Place
07. The Cry > The Electric Co. > Yankee Doodle
08. Things To Make & Do
09. Stories For Boys
10. Boy-Girl > Let's Twist Again
11. Out Of Control
12. "intermission & banter"
13. A Day Without Me
14. Twilight
15. I Will Follow (reprise)

*not present in this upload

So here is what I consider as the definitive version of this fantastic show. The set list of Source I starts with 'The Ocean' fading in and closes with 'Out Of Control' fading out. The set list of Source II starts with 'Another Time, Another Place' and concludes with 'I Will Follow.' The quality of these recordings was so high that I just slightly re-mastered both sources with normalization, adequate compression, and fine mixing (1/1000 second). This set list is the most complete one from this show with an amazing quality.

Concerning the gig, what else to say than terrific with Bono in an Olympic feeling and energetic versions for the entire set list. This was the second time in less than two months that U2 played this venue, the previous date being 1981-03-28. Barry Fey, the local concert promoter, convinced the band to come back one more time before the end of their tour, as a result of the positive response to the first show. The band also played the Rainbow Music Hall one more time on February 27, 1982.

It was during these trips to Denver that Barry Fey and Chuck Morris took the band to Red Rocks, and planted the seed that would become Under A Blood Red Sky.

Between 'An Cat Dubh' and 'Into The Heart' is a very short station ID for KAZY; I decided not to patch it to try to prevent of future Silver Bootlegs.

An ecstatic and unforgettable performance, an incredible sound: more than 5 Stars!!!"

Nessun commento:

Posta un commento