sabato 22 febbraio 2014

Yes - 1977-12-06 - Paris, FR (AUD/FLAC)

(Audience FLAC)

Going for the One Tour
Pavillon de Paris

audience -> audio cd -> Sound Forge -> FLAC

Jon Anderson (Vocals)
Steve Howe (Guitars)
Chris Squire (Bass)
Rick Wakeman (Keyboards)
Alan White (Drums)

Disk 1:
01 - Firebird Suite
02 - Parallels
03 - I've Seen All Good People
04 - Close To The Edge
05 - Wonderous Stories
06 - Colours Of The Rainbow
07 - Turn Of The Century
08 - Tour Song
09 - And You And I

Disk 2:
01 - Little Jam
02 - Aller Pour Celui ;-)
03 - Flight Jam
04 - Awaken
05 - Roundabout
06 - Nous Sommes Du Soleil
07 - Starship Trooper

This recording is nothing short of EXCELLENT! There are nuances in the music that you cannot hear in lesser-quality recordings. Synthesizer patches and guitar effects are awesomely clear. You can even appreciate the flanging effect on the voices singing the "counter-lyrics" in "And You And I" (you know, "Coins and crosses..."). This kind of quality is rare in a 30-year-old tape.

I received this recording in a trade in 2002. It may not be the same version that Highland released, and which Lestat used for his recent remaster. From his description of the audio quality of the Highland recording, this is apparently much better!

Relayerman provided a lot of detail about what he did to enhance the recording of the first night in Paris. Since I did some of the audio work on this recording in 2002, I don't have the same detailed records of everything that was done. The original recording ran slow, so the pitch was flat. I corrected the pitch and balanced the stereo channels, each of which had somewhat different frequency response. Before I was all done, I applied Sonic Foundry (now Sony) Acoustic Mirror, which gives the recording a wider stereo field.

There is a patch in the last 90 seconds of Awaken which I think was in the original recording I received in trade. It's not bad, and it's probably from another average quality recording of the same performance. Relayerman says he has two versions of this show, but I have not confirmed with him whether both have this patch. I worked with the pitch and EQ of the patch to help it blend with the rest of the recording.

Overall, this is one of the most satisfying remastering projects I've undertaken, mostly thanks to the quality of the original recording. If I had deliberately saved the best for last, I still would have chosen this recording and this show.


Nessun commento:

Posta un commento