domenica 19 novembre 2017

David Bowie - 1978-07-01 - London, UK (SBD/AUD/FLAC)

(Soundboard/Audience FLAC)

(Helden 2013/DEN 16/17)

Original "Den" CDs -> WAV (EAC v. 0.99 beta 4 - secure, Offset "actual") -> FLAC (Traders Little Helper) -> You

Earls Court Arena, London, UK, July 1st 1978
Last show of the European Tour 1978

CD1: Very Good - Excellent Soundboard (!)
CD2: Good audience

01. Warszawa
02. Heroes
03. What In The World
04. Be My Wife
05. The Jean Genie
06. Blackout
07. Sense Of Doubt
08. Speed Of Life
09. Sound And Vision
10. Breaking Glass
11. Fame
12. Beauty And The Beast

01. Member Introductions
02. Five Years
03. Soul Love
04. Star
05. Hang On To Yourself
06. Ziggy Stardust
07. Suffragette City
08. Art Decade
09. Alabama Song
10. Station To Station
11. TVC 15
12. Stay
13. Rebel Rebel

Now here comes a real sensation....a new November 2013 bootleg from Japan features the 1st half of the last European 1978 concert of David Bowie in soundboard quality. 1 song from this SBD source was previously released on "bootleg", but the rest was uncirculated outside of the "important collectors" circles. They didn't want money to be made on it, or something.... Well; if I had been getting to listen to this show for free (via torrents/trading) I obviously would not had been purchasing this Japanese bootleg now. And there are far worse things than the "bootlegers" around as far as ethic issue and "undeserved money" is concerned. Maybe one's "moral stands" could be used for something less navel-gazing than hoarding great recordings? Anyway, after 35 years of waiting, this London recording is available to the "common guy" for enjoyment. Thanks to the person who made this available to the public. Quality here is VG-EX SBD for the 1st half of the show. Great performance, and also: the only performance of "Sound And Vision" in 1978 (as far as I know). There's very few recordings of Bowie's terrific 1978 tour available in SBD quality. I can only think of 3, all of which are incomplete: Tokyo, Bremen and Dallas, plus the offical 2LP release "Stage". 2nd half of this bootleg is taken from an audience source. I don't know who taped that one. But in October 23rd 2013, a torrent was shared on MWP that featured this same show, taken from an audience recording (almost the same day as this bootleg was released). I am not a member there, but I've been told it was uploaded that day. Strangely enough, that "tape tranferred torrent" had the same "title" as this Japanese bootleg, allthough the torrent didn't feature any SBD recordings. I will include a little info about this share (I have been sent the info file of this torrent by someone) here, allthough I don't know if it's the same source as disc 2 of this torrent here.The uploader wrote: "Cassette of unknown generation -> transfer via Onkyo tapedeck TA-2330 -> Magix Music Cleaning Lab (remaster/edit) -> FLAC (44,1 kHz, 16 Bit, Stereo) -> MWP [...] Unfortunately my tape starts in the middle of "Heroes", so not only half of this song but also Warszawa is missing. The sound of the tape is in my opinion even better than the MSG tape as it has also a quite good bass. So I just improved the treble a bit and made some sound level corrections. [...] Nevertheles a very good sounding recording. Uploaded to MWP by learm 2013/10/23" So, many thanks to mr. learm. The quality of that capture is listenable. Nowhere as good as the SBD source obviously, nor as good as the best AUD captures of 1978 (Vienna, Gothenburg, etc) but surely among the better 1978 captures, stil. And also many thanks to the person who spread the SBD recording outside the "circles of the few". I would have credited you if I could.

Nessun commento:

Posta un commento