lunedì 29 aprile 2019

The Who - 1980-07-10 - Memphis, TN (AUD/FLAC)

(Audience FLAC)

The Who
July 10, 1980
Memphis, Tennessee
Mid-South Coliseum

Pete Townshend: Vocals, Guitar
Roger Daltrey: Harmonica, Vocals
John Entwistle: Vocals, Bass
Kenney Jones: Drums
John Bundrick: Piano, Keyboards

Taper: ARH (aka OleManRivers) [Sony ECM-990 mic > Sony TC-D5]
Transfer: Munichhilton [MASTER CASSETTE Sony FeCr90's > JVCTDR441 (azimuth adjusted) > PCM-M10 > WAV > ]
Mastering: JimmyShelter [WAV > iZotope RX4 Advanced > WaveLab 8.5 > WAV > TLH > FLAC]

Disc 1
01 Substitute
02 I Can't Explain
03 Baba O'Riley
04 My Wife
05 Goodbye Sister Disco
06 Behind Blue Eyes
07 Music Must Change
08 Drowned
09 Who Are You
10 5:15

Disc 2
01 Pinball Wizard
02 See Me Feel Me
03 Long Live Rock (cut)
04 My Generation
05 Naked Eye
06 I Can See For Miles
07 Won't Get Fooled Again
08 Young Man Blues
09 The Real Me
10 Dance It Away

[suggested disc split but the files are contiguous and can be split anywhere]

Munichhilton's notes:
Huge thanks to the original taper that night in Memphis ARH [aka OleManRivers] who was very excited to share this long uncirculated recording of the Who with other Who fans. All transferring done with precision and care...then handed over to the talented JimmyShelter for another great mastering job. All artwork included by JimmyShelter and some by Claude...

JimmyShelter's notes:
Mr. Hilton, you are so kind. But as I always say, 'you can't polish a turd', and a good recording and transfer makes the job a whole lot easier.
This came to me as 4 files (4 tape sides), the first one had a few tone & level changes, mostly during Baba O'Riley and My Wife. I have levelled these out as best I could without destroying the integrity of the recording. The rest was pretty even. I used iZotope to check/correct azimuth & phase then WaveLab to adjust levels, very slight EQing, a couple of notch-filters to remove a bit of resonance, and remove a couple of clicks & bumps but not much needed to be done in that respect. TLH was used to fix SBE's, encode to FLAC(6) and create checksum files. I aslo made some artwork and include some made from after8's generic artwork for those who want to use them.

As far as we can tell no recording of this show has been circulated, which often raises the question of authenticity. So I include below a report from which I think will confirm to any doubters that this is what it says it is (listen to Roger before My Wife).

1 commento: