domenica 22 ottobre 2017

Led Zeppelin - 1971-12-16 - Birmingham, UK (AUD/FLAC)

(Audience FLAC)

Sweet Brummy Roll- Empress Valley EVSD-243 ~ 245 
3CDs in a double jewel case. 
Birmingham Odeon, Birmingham 16 December 1972, with Brighton Dome , Brighton, 20 December 1972 

CDR>EAC(safe mode)>Shn 

Disc 1 (54.32) : 
01 - Rock And Roll
02 - Over The Hills And Far Away
03 - Black Dog / Misty Mountain Hop
04 - Since I've Been Loving You
05 - Dancing Days
06 - Bron -yr-Aur Stomp
07 - The Song Remains The Same
08 - The Rain Song 

Disc 2 (74.34): 
01 - Dazed and Confused
02 - Stairway To Heaven
03 - Whole Lotta Love 

Disc 3 (52.06): 
01 - Black Dog
02 - Misty Mountain Hop
03 - Since I've Been Loving You
04 - Whole Lotta Love 

Two completely new shows that have recently surfaced, pulled out of the hat by Empress Valley once again, how do they manage to release so many exciting new shows I wonder. The sound quality for Birmingham is almost very good, with Plant's voice talking in between songs sounding slightly distant. This source is from the master tape. Empress Valley have done a very good job in beefing up this tape, and the CDs sound louder and punchier than the master tape. There is a lot of tape wobble during Stairway To Heaven and the beginning of the Whole Lotta Love Medley. One point of great interest is that early on in The Rain Song John Paul Jones has big problems with the Mellotron, which goes out of tune, and he had to scurry across to the organ and play that instrument for the rest of the song. The first and only time I think in a Led Zeppelin concert, most surprising considering what a precocious instrument the Mellotron is. Brighton is a real gem, sadly only a fragment, taken from a first generation copy. It was recorded by a teenager who had little money for cassettes, and he recorded over much of this concert later at a Rory Gallagher concert. What a terrible shame as it was an amazing concert by all accounts. The sound on this is very good indeed. (Jules McTrainspotter Sept 03) 

Sweet Brummy Roll 3CD Empress Valley Supreme Discs EVSD 243-245 
Birmingham Odeon 16th December 1972/Brighton Dome 20th December 1972 

The latest offering from the premiere Japanese label is 2 shows from the late '72/early '73 UK tour, I was looking forward to hearing this release as it's the first appearance of these two shows which were played only 4 days apart. The tape starts off with a few words from the venue MC telling every one that the show is about to start. The band take the stage to a comment of "Strike a light!" from one of the tapers. The tape overloads for a few seconds as Rock & Roll starts but soon settles down to a reasonable audience recording with Bonzo's drums a little down in the mix. Plant's voice is in relatively good shape for this show as he hits those high notes during the verse to Over The Hills And Far Away. Unfortunately, none of Plant's between song comments the his home crowd can be made out due to the taper being up in the stalls, this lack of volume also affects the bow solo in Dazed And Confused and the beginning of Stairway To Heaven. The Rain Song contains a garbled section of tape which also affects the other side of the C120 cassette during Dazed And Confused. Dazed And Confused interestingly contains a snippet of the descending riff from 'In The Light' during the final section. The Brighton tape is clearer than that from Birmingham and all instruments are well defined, unfortunately we only have 50 minutes of this show containing Black Dog, Misty Mountain Hop, Since I've Been Loving You (only 3 minute's worth), Whole Lotta Love and an encore of Heartbreaker. Some sources state that the band played a medley of Christmas songs during the encore, well if they did, it's not here folks. Top marks to EVSD for finding these two new shows, it's just a pity that the shows weren't swopped around, eg the full Brighton show and 50 minutes of Birmingham because the Brighton show is a corker! (Yage 2003 September 03)

Nessun commento:

Posta un commento