mercoledì 31 gennaio 2018

Manassas - Down The Road studio outtakes (STU/FLAC)

(Studio FLAC)

Excellent quality collection of studio outtakes from Manassas second album remastered by Captain Acid. There are many versions in circulation but this one is the most complete and the best quality by far. According to CA this is the only copy he gave away. 

1. Isn't It About Time 
2. Lies 
3. Pensamiento 
4. Piece Of My Mind 
5. Six More Days And I'll Be Gone 
6. Mama Told You So 
7. The Seventh Mountain 
8. So Many Times 
9. People, They Just Don't Seem To Understand 
10. Down The Road 
11. I Don't Even Have To Try 
12. Rollin' My Stone 
13. City Junkies 
14. Business On The Street 
15. Do You Remember Americans? 
16. Guaguanco De Vero 
17. The Seventh Mountain 
18. Lies 
19. Who Do You Turn To? 
20. Down The Road 
21. People, They Just Don't Seem To Understand 
22. Isn't It About Time 
23. Pensamiento 

TWO tracks have the same names as tracks released on the Manassas compilation "Pieces," those being #2, "Lies" and #15, "Do You Remember Americans?" I've listened to the both version of both tracks, and they are indeed different takes; comparison notes as follows: 

2. "Lies" from the Pink Robert Down The Road studio outtakes is laid back at 115 bpm, loose with harmony chorus throughout second half. 
3. "Lies" from Manassas' 2009 Pieces CD, tighter, at 130bpm, much more polished track, vocal phrasing different from the start. Second half is all guitar solos with no vocal choruses. 

15. "Do You Remember Americans?" from the Pink Robert Down The Road studio outtakes is 110bpm, all harmony singing, rather polished track, country take with CSN style harmonies, steel guitar, acoustic guitar, country bass line, piano and banjo, tight ending 
13 "Do You Remember The Americans" from Manassas' 2009 Pieces CD, much faster at 150bpm, a bluegrass reading without the harmony singing, just Stills singing, banjo picking, acoustic guitar, similar country bass line, mandolin, no steel or piano, false start

5 commenti:

  1. For the sake of argument, there are no two versions but only one: Captain Acid and Pink Robert are exactly the same versions, consisted of the same files.

  2. These have been circulating for years and years. And, among others, track 5 is still mistitled. It's actually "Love And Satisfy", a song wwritten by Chris Hillman, from the Souther-Hillman-Furay band LP "Trouble In PAradise" (1975).

  3. And track 9 is another Chris Hillman song, actually called "Witching Hour", from his 1976 solo Lp "Slippin' Away".

  4. The titles were corrected at Pink Robert site.